Assessing and substantiating health needs

What is a normative need?

A public health need is established when research repeatedly shows an increase or cluster of certain diseases or health-adverse factors and if corrections are deemed necessary. It reflects the scientific assessment and judgement of a situation from the experts’ point of view, a professionally justified and in most circumstances scientifically established deficiency or shortage in defined population groups (external view). In contrast, a felt need is a subjective deficiency or shortage (expressed or not) as experienced by an individual or by a particular group of people (internal perspective). A need can refer to the international, national, regional or local level.

How is a need established?

International organisations such as the WHO or national institutes regularly collect data using different sources. From these data, once analysed and interpreted, priorities emerge and eventual need for action can then be derived and substantiated. Guidelines and implementation programmes are developed on the basis of such data.

For the justification of a project, data such as the following would be useful to compile:

  • State of the art reports from important organisations
  • National and regional health and social reports
  • Data from monitoring regarding general or specific themes
  • Research results via databases
  • Various statistical data

Need assessment for project justification

In order to justify a project, it is crucial to answer the following two questions:

  • Is there a need? If yes, what is it based upon?
  • Which groups are particularly affected?

If the project is part of a programme a strong enough basis is usually available for justifying the project. In this case, the project description will need to demonstrate how this particular project will contribute to the primary overall objectives of the programme. Accordingly, an individual project that is not part of an overarching programme will normally be required to provide more facts in order to clearly justify an intervention. The actual choice of the target group and the setting will need to be particularly well explained.

Example

The statistics of a company show that it suffers from high absenteeism due to illness and that the number of burn-outs is on the rise. The company’s executives deem these figures to be alarming and define a need for action. It is their opinion that their reputation will suffer if nothing is seen to be done and they fear a decrease in productivity. They therefore mandate an external specialist team with the task of developing health management strategies for the company, with the explicit aim to lower the number of absentee days due to illness and the number of burn-outs.

You think that the project idea is convincing and plausible enough and that you can dispense with doing time-consuming research.

  • You will be able to give substance and legitimation to your project. You will gain insight and knowledge which will help you choose your methodology and implementation method.
  • You will gain acceptance and therefore improve the framework for your project (cf. Societal framework)
  • Use the Assessment Checklist to see if you have considered all of the important points.
  • Consult all the available latest data from national or regional health reports. They provide useful pointers.
  • Have you researched the most important data sources for your needs assessment?
  • Have you consulted experts in the field in order to identify other important data?
  • Have you carefully distinguished between normative and felt or expressed needs and have you clearly explained the difference in your project?
Last modification: 31 August, 2010 22:39

Détermination du besoin objectif auquel le projet répond

Quand parle-t-on d'un besoin objectif ?

Dans le domaine de la santé publique, on parle d'un 'besoin objectif' lorsque les résultats de recherches démontrent que certaines maladies ou facteurs qui altèrent la santé apparaissent fréquemment et qu'il faut les corriger. Il s'agit de l'examen de faits et de leur analyse par des experts/expertes en rapport avec une déficience en règle générale constatée et démontrée sur le plan scientifique dans certains groupes précis de la population (perspective externe). Par 'besoin subjectif', on entend par contre une déficience que les personnes ressentent de manière subjective (perspective interne). Un besoin objectif peut exister à l'échelon international, national, régional ou local.

Comment déterminer un besoin objectif ?

Les organisations internationales telles que l'OMS ou les instituts nationaux collectent régulièrement des données de diverses sources. Ces données, une fois traitées et interprétées, permettent de fixer des priorités et de déterminer un éventuel besoin d'agir et de le justifier. C'est sur la base de ces données que des lignes directrices et des programmes sont développés.

Pour justifier un projet, il est notamment possible de se fonder sur les documents suivants:

  • Rapports de base (State-of-the-Art) d'organisations importantes
  • Rapports nationaux ou régionaux dans les domaines de la santé et du social
  • Données de monitoring concernant des thèmes généraux et spécifiques ayant trait à la santé
  • Résultats de recherches dans les banques de données
  • Statistiques diverses

Preuve d’un besoin objectif pour justifier le projet

Pour justifier un projet, il est important de répondre aux deux questions suivantes:

  • Existe-t-il un besoin objectif et si oui, sur quoi se fonde-t-il ?
  • Quels sont les groupes particulièrement concernés ?

Si le projet est réalisé dans le cadre d'un programme, il y a en général suffisamment de données à disposition pour en justifier le besoin. Dans ce cas, la tâche consiste à décrire la contribution spécifique que ce projet peut apporter aux objectifs du programme.

Lorsqu'un projet n'est pas inséré dans un programme, il faut généralement rassembler plus d’éléments pour pouvoir justifier les interventions prévues. Pour le groupe cible ou le setting, il importe aussi de pouvoir argumenter pourquoi c’est précisément ce groupe qui doit être abordé.

Exemple

Les statistiques d'une entreprise indiquent un chiffre élevé d'absences pour cause de maladie et un nombre croissant de personnes souffrant d'un burn out. La direction de l'entreprise estime que ces chiffres sont alarmants et décide de prendre des mesures. Si rien n'est fait, leur réputation et la productivité pourraient en souffrir. La direction engage une équipe externe de conseillers chargés de développer un système de gestion de la santé dans l'entreprise dans le but de diminuer l'absentéisme pour cause de maladie et le nombre de cas de burn out.

Vous trouvez l'idée de votre projet suffisamment convaincante et plausible et vous voulez faire l'économie d'importantes recherches.

  • Vous pouvez justifier et légitimer le projet. Les connaissances acquises vous aident de plus à développer la manière de procéder et le choix des méthodes pour le réaliser.
  • Vous augmentez l'acceptation pour votre projet et en améliorez ainsi les conditions cadres (voir 'Contexte social')
  • Vérifiez, à l'aide de la 'Checkliste assessment', si vous avez pris en compte tous les éléments importants pour la détermination du besoin objectif.
  • Consultez les données les plus récentes des rapports nationaux et régionaux sur la santé. Ils fournissent de précieuses indications.
  • Des recherches dans les sources de données les plus importantes ont-elles été effectuées pour déterminer le besoin objectif ?
  • Des spécialistes, qui connaissent bien les faits, ont-ils été contactés pour fournir des indications sur d'importantes sources de données ?
  • Le besoin objectif est-il bien délimité par rapport au besoin subjectif et la différence en est-elle présentée de manière transparente dans le projet ?
Dernière modification: mercredi 01 septembre 2010 00:39